Moss Motors, Ltd

Our Sites: Moss USA | Moss Europe
The Moss Motors Forum is now read-only for informational purposes. The Moss Motors forum was
formed at a time when other forums were just getting started and other forums have proven that they
are a better model. We closed the forum because there is an abundance of information on more popular
forums and anything that was being posted, and answered, on our site was diluting the general knowledge
base. We suggest you check out BritishCarForum.com and MGExperience.net for a start.
Welcome to Moss Motors, Ltd Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

Flat towing a 71 MGB with tow bar

Last post 04-02-2008, 9:25 AM by wellwoodautorestoration. 3 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  04-01-2008, 4:28 PM 13693

Flat towing a 71 MGB with tow bar

Hello I am a newbie here trying to find out if anyone here has flat towed a MGB with a tow bar ? And what is the best way to hook it up to the car ? I was thinking of pulling the front bumper and using the bumper bracket mounting bolt holes, should this be safe. I will be towing about 1000 miles.Thanks
  •  04-01-2008, 5:21 PM 13694 in reply to 13693

Re: Flat towing a 71 MGB with tow bar

I towed an MGA that way for many miles, to and from race tracks.  I removed the front bumper, had two swivel brackets made up that bolted in place of the bumper and allowed a tow bar (triangle shaped) to attach to either side.  Worked fine for several years.  The one thing I also did was to disconnect the drive shaft at the rear end and tie it up to the frame.  It was maybe not necessary, but I always felt better doing it.  I also had two large trailer tail lights that I bolted in place of the rear bumper and wired into the tow car so there would be tail and turn signal lights.  That's necessary in some states, I think. 
  •  04-01-2008, 9:05 PM 13698 in reply to 13694

If you really are determined not to use a trailer, then by all means, disconnect the driveshaft.
    Motorbill